Essence

Why can’t we make our heart feel differently? We, humans, have done so much on earth. We probably changed the world more than any other species, but one thing we apparently can’t do is change how we feel. Even when we don’t want to feel something, there is nothing we can do, but suck the feeling up, whether it’s regret, anger, sorrow, or love.

I wish I could change how I felt about some things, and some people, but that’s apparently not happening. Sometimes I wish I couldn’t feel at all, it would be a lot easier being emotionless. You stop hoping for nothing, feeling guilty for what is done, and being somebody else for another person. Emotions create their own problems, they excite, only to sorrow, they anger, only to regret, and they love, only to get hurt.

Okay, the true reason I’m writing this article is because I’ve been liking someone for a while, and this person probably would never feel the same way. There is an impenetrable line between the two of us. What I should do is start accepting the fact that there is nothing happening between us, and there will never be, but I can’t. Though I know hoping will only waste my time, and hurt me even more, hope is all I have.

Yes, I agree emotions suck, but life wouldn’t be worth living without them. Hope keeps us alive, hope for a future, hope for a tomorrow, hope for love. We don’t know what the future will bring. Today might have been a day to forget, but tomorrow could be a day to live. This is what keeps us alive, a hope, though an impossible hope, that things will get better, and sometimes they do. There are those days to live for, everyone has them, and those days are what make life worth living.

Leave a comment